Friends are Friends Forever… or something like that.

“A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart and can sing it back to you when you have forgotten the words.”

Since I’ve started working out in OKC, I currently spend roughly 6 hours on the road each week. (I know. I’m crazy and I drive one hour to work out for 45 minutes and then drive the hour back.) This has actually been a pretty good thing because I am bored on the road and it’s the best time for me to call my friends and catch up with them. (Another disclaimer: I have a headset so I’m not actually driving around with the phone against my ear. Most of the time.) Honestly, if I’m at home, I’m just not often calling.

It’s hard that the majority of my “besties” are way too far away for me to actually drive and see them.  Does it make me seem cool and popular to have friends in other places? They are cool and popular people. Seriously. You should get to know them. 🙂 Ha. Anyway. Still, we talk on the phone and catch up on each other’s lives.  Our conversations wax and wane depending on what’s going on, but we essentially know each other well.

I know that sometimes I complain about a lack of “in the flesh” friends, and I believe that local friends are important, but I can’t discredit the amazing friends I have made in my life.  Many people go through their lives never feeling like they have friends that they can talk to and share their lives with.  I have my husband, whom I love with a depth I can’t explain, but I also have people I can call and share the intimate details of my life with.  Friends still in college. Friends with kids. Friends who force you to argue and think and push yourself. Friends who would take someone out with a crowbar for you if you asked. Friends who would do anything for you. Friends who would call you out on your crap.

Many people go through life without that and I am blessed to have several of those people.  I am not silent about life struggles so if you read this little ol’ blog you know we’ve been through our share.  However, this is one area that I consider myself very rich.

“Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another, ‘What! You too? I thought I was the only one” C.S. Lewis
“One measure of friendship consists not in the number of things friends can discuss, but in the number of things they need no longer mention.” Clifton Fadiman
Leave a Reply

