My new project!

Are you like me and like going through all the crafty blogs?

Places like…
Make It and Love It
Dana Made It
Made By Rae
…and others?

Well I do.  I love them. They have all these fabulous tutorials that I always think about doing.

Now, I’m not a great seamstress. I get impatient and I make a lot of mistakes.  I’m also just learning.  I know that I do diaper bags, burp cloths, and stuff, but the bags were taught to me by my grandma (who is AMAZING) and the other stuff is just a straight stitch. I want to learn how to become a great seamstress, though.

Why do I think sewing is important?

Well, I want my little girl to proudly say (or in a few years, groan) that “Mama made this.”
I think sewing is a lost art. Don’t believe me? Go look for fabric.
It gets me focused on something other than baking. Sewing is way less fattening.
… and I like being crafty.
(She’s crafty! And she’s just my type! Sorry. Beastie boys reference.)

So, I am going to tackle these tutorials and I will call it
Tutorial Tuesday.

Every Tuesday, I will display a tutorial I have attempted to tackle.  You’ll get to see me in all my messed up glory.  I’ll let you know if you can tackle it too. This way, I’ll learn what I like and I can perfect the ones I really loved to do.

Preview: This Tuesday, I will tackle “the Market Skirt”!

I can’t wait to show you! (Well, I can wait. Until Tuesday.)

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elisha Robertson on March 19, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    yay, can’t wait to read them. You inspire me girl!

    Reply

  2. Yay! I can’t wait to see what you make! And I love that you’re making this a regular feature. I don’t know if I could keep up with one a week! And great choice on the first one; I have that tutorial saved to make for Avery! Can’t wait to see how yours turns out. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

