Snow Day Project – Birthday Banner!

I’ll admit– I’m both sad and excited for my little Bluebelle to turn one.

I’ll also admit that I feel a little like a bad mama.  I don’t write her monthly letters or anything like that.  I don’t plan on making a huge production for her first birthday. I’m sometimes afraid that she got a defective Mama. Ha. I think of it, but I don’t get to it.  I’m just good to keep up with her baby book!

Even though her first birthday will mainly be family (and a few friends), I want it to be chock full of love and simplicity. I’m still trying to decide if I’ll make her cake or not, and I want her decorations to be homemade and reusable (for both financial and eco-friendly reasons).  I also just love how homemade things look!

I stumbled upon See Mommy Sew’s website while searching for a way to make a birthday banner for my Bluebelle and fell in love with the simplicity of this project.  I thought you might want to make one, too!

Yes, I’m aware that her birthday is 2 months away, but since we’re moving and everything else is going on, I wanted to complete this project before we moved!

Supplies needed:
Fabric (use what you have.  If you want to buy one of those packs of 5 18″x21″ rectangles of fabric, one pack will do quite nicely.)
Bias tape (I used single fold narrow.  I think mine was 8 yards, but I had excess left over.)
Felt (if you make 3×4 inch letters, you’ll need 2 -3 of the swatches)
Sewing machine
Thread
Scissors
Template (shown)

I bought way too much fabric, but I’m planning to use the striped fabric in some other projects, so it’s not a loss. 🙂

I began by making a template (I used cardboard from a notebook).  I used SMS’s measurements and I made a 4×9 triangle to use on the fold.

You’ll need 26 triangles (front and back) to write “Happy Birthday.”  I made 30 because I was on a roll. Oops.
I’ll just add them to the “Happy” part of the banner.

I then cut out the letters in felt.  I made 3×4 inch blocks and then I freehanded the letters out of that.  It helped me keep the letters consistent.

Then I mapped out my colors and letters to get an idea of what it would look like.

Then I sewed the felt letters onto the triangle. I started with an applique stitch, but I quickly realized I would STILL be sewing.  I’ll save that for one of baby girl’s clothes!  So, I just used a zig zag stitch for a little pizzazz! (You could use a straight stitch if you wanted.)

 

Then, I sewed the triangles’ front and backs wrong sides together.  Yes, I know this creates a raw edge, but I like it.  I may go back and pink the edges, but my pinking shears are MIA and I’ll have to buy a new pair if this is what I want to do. I also wanted my fronts and backs to be different from each other.

Then, I pinned the finished pennants to the bias tape.  I didn’t do anything special with the tape.  Actually, I’m sure you could even use ribbon or something if you would rather.  I just laid the tape on top, pinned it, and started sewing with a wide zig zag stitch.

When that’s done, you’re done!  Super easy!

I can’t wait to use this again and again! Hopefully, I can find some other projects to add to the birthday festivities!

Enjoy! Let me know if you make one too!

4 responses to this post.

  1. I LOVE your banner! I wanted to do one for Avery’s first birthday but never got around to it (story of my life!). You may just have inspired me to make one by her second. 🙂

    Don’t worry about being a “defective mama.” I haven’t kept up with Avery’s baby book at all, and her first birthday was anything but a production. We had an awesome cake (given to us by a friend who just happens to be amazing at decorating) and family and some friends. It was fun and so much more enjoyable not stressing over a big party. Keep the sewing projects coming– I need some motivation!

    Reply

    • Thanks!

      I think you could totally do a cute birthday banner! It honestly took me about 8 hours from start to finish (which translates into 2-3 days while taking care of the kiddo.)

      Don’t you just miss starting and completing a project in one sitting?

      Reply

  2. Posted by Megan Card on February 22, 2011 at 11:45 am

    April!!! I know that this is totally random, and I do not usually do this, but I thought you might enjoy it, especially with your incredible fashion sense. 🙂

    Join what is expected to be the fastest growing women’s internet start-up company in history with Bamboopink. Bamboopink is a new fashionable, yet affordable jewelry line made and designed by a famous, high-end designer whose current line is sold in upscale department stores, is all over the red carpet and worn by Oprah! This company is the first of its kind, an internet launched company with virtual trunk shows…there are no parties to host and no phone calls to make.
    Sign-ups are free, with no risks or obligations. The free signing period is only for 30 days (through March 15), after that you will have to pay to be a consultant.

    What sets this company apart from other direct sales companies:

    * GROUND FLOOR opportunity (probably won’t ever happen to you again!)

    * Strongest comp plan in the industry

    * Very successful designer (JudeFrances) multi-million dollar jeweler making/backing this jewelry, so sure to be successful. Google them. Their stuff is awesome!

    * Instead of growing one sales rep at a time, this business model using the free sign-up period – we can grow fifty sales reps at a time – but the time to do that is NOW!

    This company is going to explode in a few weeks with a national press release and official launch. This is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. So be one of the first to sign up! Then you can do the same as me and get credit for signing up your friends, which is what we are compensated for with jewelry, cash and/or an ipad. It is not about selling the jewelry at this point, but networking and creating interest. If you decide not to sell, you have lost nothing and your name is dropped from the list.

    You can also get more information at my blog at http://www.bamboopink-megancard.blogspot.com

    To sign up visit http://www.bamboopink.net/megancard

    Reply

  3. […] I chose fabrics that I love and I sewed one. You can make a paper one, but I wanted one that I could use year after year (and kid after kid!).  My supplies amounted to around $10.00, but if I just use it 5 times, that’s $2.00 a use! MUCH cheaper than a store bought one! Want to learn how to make one? Go here. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

