Tales of the walking dead — or the sleeping awake.

Mothers with full-time jobs – I salute you.

I think that being a SAHM** (Stay At Home Mom) is hard.  Seriously, backbreakingly, hard.  That said, I think that being a working mom is freakingly, crazy, hard.  Now, let me say this: BEING A PARENT IS AHH!!! HARD.

**Let me give a little shout out to one of my BFF’s for being a SAHD.  He works his tookus off — juggling a 4 month old, a bajillion pound dog with a personality the size of Texas, completing his masters, and job hunting for when his masters is completed.  So, while I use the word “Mom” in this post, I am speaking for all parents, cause this crap (sometimes literally)  is hard.

I am “working” now as a childcare provider (I use quotations because it is both fun and a job, and many people wouldn’t consider it a job.  Although it SO is.) and I am loving it, but I have never been this tired in my life.  I am up at 5:30, out of the house by 6:45, and I am home somewhere between 4-6 pm, roughly 4 days a week.  

Yesterday, I fell asleep with my daughter at 6:30 pm on the twin bed in her room.  I was in bed myself at 8:30 pm (after Glee! of course).  I washed one load of laundry.  I ate some chips and ice cream because I couldn’t form enough of a mind to actually prepare something healthy and balanced. 

I’ve totally began to cheat on my “super mom” goal.  I haven’t made baby food in weeks.  Our laundry is sitting on the couch and there are dishes in the sink.  I’ve been taking shortcuts with meals, bathtime, etc, and I haven’t baked or cooked since Thanksgiving.  It’s all I can do to keep up!

I think that being a parent is totally awesome, and totally doable — but life gets in the way.  It’s so messy.  Isn’t that life?

I am wishing that I would have taken more than 3 pictures in the last month, and I’m hoping I can still clean my house and get some Christmas baking in before December 25.  If I don’t though, that’s okay.

I have officially joined the group of the walking dead – or the sleeping awake.  Parents who are out of the house all day long … I salute you.  I don’t know how you can work all day and then clean/cook/live until 11 pm.

So, as a SAHM, who has turned into a workingish mom, I pledge to lose my (slight and silent) smug demeanor that thinks that I am doing the “best thing ever” by staying at home.  I never thought that working was BAD, mind you, I just thought that I am being the best by staying at home.  I still think it’s important, and it will hurt if I have to be separated from my girl, but I know that as a parent you just have to do what you have to do.

Come on and admit it – if you aren’t a little bit like that, you know someone who is.

We’re all walking dead.  Let’s zombie around together in harmony.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Amy on December 8, 2010 at 9:20 am

    Amen Sister! It does and will get easier – I keep telling myself this everyday. It will break your heart one day to leave Annabelle for a job. It seems to be a little easier with a second child I suppose it’s because I’ve already lived with the dread and worry and seperation anxiety with the first – and there is no lying I was CRAZY insane with Matthew (obsesive), not sure there was enough medication to help me cope. I also know that my children are in your capable hands and heart.

    Reply

  2. Welcome to my world sister! Haha! It does get better, and the times that I can stay home (Thanksgiving, Christmas, Spring Break, and Summer) make it all the more worth it! I love what I do being at school and at home…it’s the best of both worlds. However, our house….it’s always a disaster. And our well balanced diet? Well it’s not so balanced. But, we have a happy family of three and that’s all that matters.

    Reply

  3. Oh April, you make me laugh. Especially when I thought you said you hadn’t bathed since Thanksgiving, when in actuality, you haven’t “baked” since then. 🙂

    When I quite teaching to stay at home, everybody told me that it was the hardest, but best, job in the world. Honestly at this point, I feel like it was MUCH harder to teach 150 sophomores all day and keep up with the grading workload while trying to keep my house clean, cook, and have enough energy to be a good mom when I got home. Yes, staying at home is hard (and at times it really sucks), but when I’m home, I can find little moments here and there to do some laundry or vacuum or whatever, instead of having to do those things at 11 pm (which was Avery’s bedtime while I was working).

    Anyway, you’re absolutely right. Both are hard. Both require sacrifice. And people on both sides of the line need to give each other a break and not criticize the decisions that each person has to make for their own family. Oh wait, I’m getting off on a tangent. 🙂

    Great post.

    Reply

  4. I am SOOO in that club! As my mom says “we’ll sleep when we get old”…in return I say, this lack of sleep is making me old!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

