Honest Blogging (a.k.a. my first retraction)

Sometimes you can never predict the outcome.

Yesterday I wrote a post centered around the song “Wedding Dress” by Derek Webb.  The first line of the chorus is “I am a whore* I do confess” … referring to our desires for “lovers less wild” than Christ and how we as the Church has strayed from God, yet we still belong to Him.

*I was referring to the definition of “to seek that which is immoral, idolatrous, etc” as defined in the World English Dictionary.  Unfortunately, that is not often a common definition for that word.

Regretfully, it opened a can of worms.  I don’t mind being provocative, but I don’t intend to be infuriating to anyone. While I don’t believe that what I wrote was incorrect, I want to be respectful and honoring of those that I love.  I honestly wasn’t thinking about saying anything that would be wrong.

I want to say this, however.  I believe in being honest and forthcoming in what I write.  When I am super perky, generic, and chipper, I am not being entirely true to myself.  Perhaps there are people out there who are genuinely that person.  It’s ironic, really, that I would be so offensive when I have tried my whole life to please everyone.

I already think and sensor what I write on here.  We all should be discerning.  Sometimes we say things that we wish we wouldn’t have said.  All of us. This does not change my conviction to be honest.

I do not want to cause my brother/sister to stumble.

I also do not want to water down myself so much that I become irrelevant.  I know that I often have a hard time with Christianity because it seems to only deal with what is pretty and easy.  Refusing to think and recognize issues seem dangerous to me.

I think that it’s essential to have all sides of the spectrum.  Do I believe that it’s possible to be a believer who loves God and not be someone who fits the “traditional” mold of conservative evangelical Christianity?

Well, if that’s not possible, then I am in deep trouble, and I know of a few others in trouble as well. 😉

I hope to be truth. I do. I really do.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by MA on October 26, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    I think it was good you showed your love for others outweigh your love for your opinions and took it down. I know it wasn’t an easy decision for you, but you made the right one, I think.

    At the risk of stiring the pot, as regards your original post, I think you lost alot of weight behind your point because you were using the very thing you sought to confess to confess. Kinda like spray painting your confession that you like to destroy others things on your neighbors house. Saying you do things for the attention with a title that will do nothing but grab attention only shows that you are indeed right, but not that you are in anyway confronting the issue.

    As for those who think the church isn’t messy, raw or real enough, I propose that it is actually the opposite. It is too raw, real, and messy, and thus many wish for “something better”. Just food for thought.

    It was good seeing you guys this weekend. We miss you all a lot, and pray the best for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

