Friday Five

Confession: This is shamelessly stolen from Another Ten Miles‘ blog. I’m attempting to give myself a little structure.  I essentially hate when people follow a blogging “formula” although I know that they do it in order to create a predictability that encourages people to read.  I think I have like all of 5 people who read me, so that’s a non-issue. 🙂 I just want to use this blog a little more constructively.  I haven’t decided on another day of structure (like a “wordless Wednesday”) yet, but this is one.  So, each Friday I will list 5 things.  It may be a list of 5 days, 5 random thoughts, 5 pics, a mix… whatever I want! The only rule is that we stick to 5. (Although, I’ll probably break that from time-to-time!)

1. I am trying to work on my blog more.  I believe I am renaming this from Divine Discontent.  I am trying to also change up my heading.  I’ve had an ominous, desert-y theme for years.  It’s time to be a bit more interesting.  Not a mommy name headline, but something new.

2. My girl rolled over this week!  August 30, around 8:30 am to be exact! I was talking to my mom on the phone and she just did it.  We’ve only duplicated this once more, but we are quickly on our way to being mobile.  Only took 5 months!

3. We have some major life decisions coming up and I’m struggling a lot with them.  I’m having some spiritual life issues that are far too private for me to share on here.  I’m not sure how they would be perceived, especially because they deal with some very strong doubts and feelings. Some people are uncomfortable with the spiritually ambiguous. Let’s just say it’s 20+ years of frustration.

4. Random: I still think about Caedmon’s Call and Derek Webb songs most days.  I have April Showers, Faith My Eyes, and The Truth circling in my head right now. “Oh like April showers, on a slick cement,” “Keep on coming, these lines on the road, keep me responsible, be it a light or heavy load.  Keep me guessing, these blessings in disguise. I walk with grace my feet, and faith my eyes.” “the Truth’s not contingent on me.”  These things remind me that some roots of faith are still there, even though I feel so far from it otherwise.

5. Tomorrow, I am going to the “Loose Caboose Festival” in a neighboring town.  More pictures and stuff to come!

Yes, this was a pathetic Friday Five.  It only took me 4 hours to complete.  Even now, my sweet girl is taking over.  She has only taken 2 naps today… so I’m going a little nuts!

Until tomorrow!

One response to this post.

  1. Thanks for the shout out. 🙂 I didn’t even get to my Five this week. Yikes! And I just told Matt that you’re my new best friend because I love love love your #4. My blog title is a Caedmon’s song, too. I’m pretty sure I’ve sung most of their songs at church at one point or another.

    And yay for rolling over! That’s huge! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

