Two of the most amazing people I have ever known.

I know I’ve become a shameless mommy-blogger, but I thought I would deviate from the new norm and write about some other people.

I’ve been thinking about my grandparents lately. We have been living with them since November and they are 2 of the people in our life that we simply couldn’t have survived without.

If you follow me on facebook, then you know that my grandma has a lot of funny/rude things to say. They are all true, but they don’t reveal her true character.  I want to tell you a little more about them.

My grandparents are two of the most remarkable people you will ever meet.  They are 72 and 70, respectively, but they can do more work than most 20 year olds. Both were born here in Oklahoma- my grandfather of primarily Scottish and German decent (just look at his white-blonde hair and ice blue eyes) and my grandmother with her olive complexion and robin’s egg blue eyes. They fell in love in high school, were married, and neither graduated.  My uncle was born in ’59 and my father in ’61.

My grandfather is a welder by trade.  He made his living for years working on communications/observatory towers around the world. Seriously, he’s been everywhere. He has worked on every continent except for Antarctica, and he turned that job down to take another.  He’s worked in Guam, Turkey, all over Africa, Japan, Puerto Rico, all over the U.S., France, Italy, etc.  He will tell you stories on how he worked on towers in Guam merely feet away from boxes that housed guerrilla solders.  He’s worked in areas in the desert that would take 4 days by 4 wheel drive to get there. He’s met people of all kinds. He has something nice to say about every place he’s ever worked (except Paris, France. You’ll have to ask him why). He’s been on safari, befriended families, and learned first hand how we all basically have the same hopes and fears.

He is the most hard-working person you will ever meet. He is also the friendliest.  Grandpa always has a kind word, a joke to say, and a smile on his face.  My father told me once that he never heard my grandpa tell him that he loves him, but he knows it in the actions he does. He will do anything for people. He watches CNN religiously, knows what’s going on in the world, and believes in helping those who need it.

My grandmother is equally wonderful in an entirely different way.  She’s the woman who threw parties and helped raise her sister-in-law.  She is fiercely loyal to those she loves.  She’s a spitfire, known for smacking a teacher who bullied my dad when he was a child and refusing to let people run all over her when she was in public office.  She can do anything with her hands. She’s taught me how to sew, embroider, paint, reupholster furniture, make flower arrangements, cook, clean, shop, can veggies, garden, etc. Even today, she works a full-time job and still spends her free time working on our diaper bags. She’s given so much to family.  She took care of my brother and I every weekend growing up.  She bought our clothes, school supplies, and even our food sometimes when my parents couldn’t make ends meet.

I have seen them have everything and nothing.  They give so unselfishly.

Now, here we are, living in their house.  They offered it to us while they moved into a camper.  They help us survive from day-to-day.  If that wasn’t enough, they bring gifts for our child, bring us food, fill up my tank when I drive them into OKC. They are still giving.

I feel like I can’t begin to do them justice.  I want to tell you about the softness of my grandma’s arm when I lean up against her. How my grandpa asks Todd to step into his “office,” which is a chair under a shade tree.  I want to describe to you the smell of the handmade wood burning stove in my grandpa’s shop: a mix of heat, wood, oil, gas, and hard work. I want to tell about our shopping trips which still last 7 hours, because my grandma has to hit every store twice.

I love them so much.  I already tear up when I think that these moments won’t last forever. They have been in the center of my world for so many years.

While I hate being in the predicament we are in, I am beyond grateful that I have been able to spend this time here with them again.

I want to bottle them up and keep them forever.

… and I pray that I am a fraction as good and as memorable as them.

One response to this post.

  1. They seem like pretty incredible people – the kind that just ooze wisdom and perspective.

    I don’t have much good to say about Paris either, and I’d love to sit down with your Granddad and find out his story. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

