A little business venture.

This all began with me finding an adorable diaper bag at The Tulip Tree in Norman.  It was large, handmade, and cute with a ruffle. But it was a $135.00. A HUNDRED AND THIRTY-FIVE DOLLARS!  Immediately, my grandmother and I said, “We can make that.”

Thus, our diaper bags were born.  First, we made one for me.

Then, grandma had some co-workers that wanted to buy them.  We’ve played with textures, fabrics, interfacing and more.  We use a heavy weight interfacing with upholstery fabric (although we will use a lighter weight fabric if it is something a person really wants). I started coordinating diaper wipe cases because I love when everything coordinates! 🙂

It’s a LARGE bag, because I can’t figure out how to NOT carry everything in the entire world.  On any given day I have the following in my bag: 6 diapers, wipes, 2 outfits, 2-3 burp cloths, sling, blanket, hand sanitizer, pacifier, ipod, phone, gas drops, wallet, water bottle, changing pad, and more… and I don’t even use all the pockets!

Many bags that I have found of similar quality/size are selling for 75.00 or more.  One lady charges $105.00 for you to BUY YOUR OWN FABRIC and she’ll make it for you. Ridiculous.

So, grandma and I are selling the bags for $50.00 with the wipes case.  We may have to adjust for some shipping and handling if we have to ship them (depending on cost of shipping).  It takes my grandma and I a day to make the bag, although we are devising ways to streamline the process.

Each bag is unique and handmade.  No two are EXACTLY alike.  We also take requests for colors, themes, etc.  It has 4 exterior pockets and 4 interior pockets.  Also, because these are bags for mamas with babies… they are also completely washable (my original request!)

If you are interested, please e-mail me at aprilcmcgrew@gmail.com and I will get back to you soon! We already are working on several, and we have a couple already in stock.  Those are willing to be sold for a little discount. 🙂

Oh yeah, I’ll also make bows, flower clips, and individual diaper cases for people!

For more pictures… check out my facebook photos.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michael Awbrey on July 7, 2010 at 6:45 am

    You should start you and etsy page!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Aubree on July 9, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    April, first of all I absolutely love reading ur blogs…the poem u wrote 10 years ago is beautiful. ….now on to the bags. I love them! I’m wonderin if u could pull off a boy bag, western style 🙂 and price for it. I didn’t know if u had done any boy bags yet and if they’re the same price?

    Reply

    • Posted by April McGrew on July 10, 2010 at 10:50 am

      Yes we can! I have one boy bag on my facebook page… we’ve done more, but we forgot to take pictures! We can definitely do western! I have some material in stock already and I can take pictures and send it to you so that I can know what angle you’re thinking of. 🙂 The bags are the same price. We can also decide if you want a ruffle or not (since it’s your bag) and we can go from there!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

