A mommy blog/update/mandate to write

Last week my aunt told me I needed to keep a journal of my experiences of being a new mom.

It’s because I’m already the best mom ever.

Just kidding.

Actually, it’s because she likes to read what I write.  Perhaps because I simply tell it how it is.  There is no lack of self-depreciation here.  I also think that it’s because if you don’t laugh about things, you will cry.  Life is far too crazy without some degree of irony and sarcasm.  So, here I am going to write a bit.

Oh yeah, did you see the word “mom”?  Yeah, I’m now a mom.  For about 2 weeks now.  Later, I will write a post of my birth experience so I can have it in written form, but not today.  It has been a crazy two weeks.  My husband returned to work the other day, and although I have family here on the premises, it’s not the same.  Why, you ask?  It’s because I have fallen deeper in love with my husband.

I am a “acts of service” kind of person.  I think that’s why I was well-suited for ministry for so many years.  I enjoy giving myself and all my energies to something I believe in.  That’s also a downfall because I am likely to: 1, wear myself out for the sake of the “cause” and 2, get unresponsive/reluctant to do something that I’m not fully invested in.  This can be hard for church world, cause there’s a lot of junk you get called to do and you don’t necessarily believe in it.  Ah, I digress.  Back to acts of service.  Because I am this kind of person, I am blown away when I am treated with service.  I almost don’t know what to do.

Lately, my husband has shown me how much he loves me with these things.  He’s fixing meals, changing diapers, burping the baby, giving me 30 minutes to shower, etc.  I don’t know what I would do without him.  It blows me away.  I have honestly never felt so loved and cherished by him before.  He’s a great father.  He’s doing everything he can to take care of me and our sweet child.

Baby’s awake.  More later.

Leave a Reply

