Saying goodbye to old friends

Today is a sad day.

At this point, Todd and I will be homeless in about 3 weeks.  At this point, I do not have a job.  Financially, we don’t know how we are going to make it.

But these are not things I am sad about.  I know that things will work out.

Today, I am downsizing.  To financially and physically be able to make the move, we are getting rid of things we don’t need.  I am taking a lot of my books to the 1/2 price bookstore.  We have so many books, it will make the move easier if we downsize.  Also, I can read without owning everything.  Now, some that I re-read often I will keep.  Books that will help Todd in his endeavors will stay.  But, my friends, my dear friends will go.  Characters I have fell in love with.  Ideas that made me stop and think twice.  Thoughts that changed my outlook on life.

I thought this would be simple enough.

Then, I started to cry.  I don’t need to own all the books to be a reader, but they are my escape, my safety net.

I am saying goodbye to my friends today.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by joharp on September 14, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    If that’s the case then I’m just going to keep the Jane Austen of yours that I haven’t got around to reading yet.

    Reply

    • Posted by April McGrew on September 14, 2009 at 9:02 pm

      Oh no, I’m keeping Jane. She’s not one I would ever sell back. 🙂 So, read, but I’ll be waiting with Mansfield Park to loan you after I get back Emma.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

