The freedom of childhood

I always wanted to grow up.
dreaming about it
in my room
with the Beach Boys singing “surfer girl” in the background
talking about it
jumping
on my trampoline
playing like it
in my treehouse
putting curtains on the windows

I was never
fully allowed to grow up
firmly wrapped up in a family
that allowed me to read books
write stories
sing songs
dream … dreams.

I never considered
being quiet about my dreams
or having to put a smile on my face
in the face of meanness
or having to learn what is appropriate or not
that some things
are simply better than others
and you better just go with it.

Thank you Mom
Dad
Grandparents
for letting me make mud pies
and chase pets
and speak my mind
learning more about myself
than I ever realized at that time.

One response to this post.

  1. This is beautiful, April! I love you and I thank you for sharing it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

