Good Morning

 

Just lovely, isn't it?

Just lovely, isn't it?

Ahh, my friends.  How I’ve missed talking to you! I wish I had the time and the inclination more to write, but I’ve been going through a pretty crazy time lately. Sometimes I keep from writing simply because I’m not in the mood to write something uber spiritual (cause that’s what you’re supposed to do, right?) and other times, I’m at work and I postpone it to … work.  Pathetic excuses, I know.

Life has been pretty crazy lately. I would love to tell you all about it, but I can’t because it’s not all public knowledge yet.  It will mean a bunch of changes (which I’m not sure will even happen), both exciting and scary, and I can’t have people worrying preemptively and causing all sorts of ruckus. 🙂  But I will give you one hint: I’m NOT pregnant.  

I’ve also been going through some changes in my personal life as well.  Recently, I went through the Esther Bible study by Beth Moore.  Now, I am of the impression that most ladies’ Bible studies are a little too “lightweight” and feminine for me, but this one was a little meaty. I liked it.  I LOVE a good story, and it was written in a vibrant and connective way that drew me in.  It was the first time I’ve consistently gotten back into studying my Bible for my own enjoyment in about a year.  If you know me well, you may be a little shocked, because you who know me know I have read my Bible consistently for about 10 years.  Let’s just say, there’s been a lot that’s went on in my life that caused me to take a step back for a while.  

Now, I’m back into studying.  I’ve been reading Galatians (I just finished it today, actually) and it has been amazing how much reading my Bible helps me to tolerate my life right now.  Today I read this passage: “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.”  (Galatians 6:9) That’s where I’ve been this past year, “weary in doing good.”  Why continue to do good when you’re met with opposition and crap at every turn?  I’ve always done what is “right” and “good.”  I’m 25. Why not do a little “bad”?  

I know what you’re thinking. “Come on, seriously. Do bad? Do you know how to do that?”

Not really.  I’ve spent the last year angry and saying the “F” word.  I watched trashy VH1 TV shows (which is great entertainment) and had the occasional mojito.  I had road rage and took antidepressants.  Really bad of me. I’m such the wild child. 

There really hasn’t been so much fulfillment in it. 

I just want to be healed.  It hasn’t been so much in the church, just in Christ. It been found in searching and connecting with other broken seekers.  It’s not in advice, or by people telling me to “just get better.”  It’s been found in conversations over a cup of coffee and a piece of cheesecake.  It’s been found in the trees and the wind that blows softly, telling my story back to me. 

I’m finding my path again, slowly. 

 

**If you actually bore through that, I congratulate you.  This isn’t exactly my most entertaining piece, but it’s real.  For everyone else… that’s why I included an unattractive picture of myself drinking my coffee. Enjoy.

5 responses to this post.

  1. heh…. all I have to say is I love you!

    Reply

  2. Posted by April McGrew on April 28, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    What does the “heh” mean? Was I witty? Did I bowl you over into peals of laughter? Or is it just a way to work in an ellipse … ?

    Reply

  3. Posted by joharp on April 28, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Let me guess. HOLLY’S PREGNANT!

    Reply

  4. I don’t know how an eclipse has anything to do with my comment…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

