conflict

Conflict.

How do you feel about it? Personally, I’m weary of conflict.  There once was a time where I didn’t mind “fighting.”  I was so pent up on emotions toward my mother that I relished the moment when she would say something that would open the door for an argument.  Now, I believe that there’s enough stuff in the world fighting against us that we shouldn’t spend all our time fighting with the ones we love.

I have some friends that just seem to pick an argument every chance they get.  They are always upset over what you did or didn’t do.  It’s like you just can’t win.  People like that wear me out the most.  They aren’t happy with you no matter what you do.   Why are they like that?

I know other people who are passive-aggressive.  They seem to just set up opportunities for you to fail.  They’re a pain to deal with, but at least you can ignore them– or kill them with kindness. 🙂

Then there are the bullies.  The ones that don’t back down no matter how much you ask. They are usually a combination of all of the above.  What wears me out with these situations is that no matter how calm you remain, they keep going at it until you begin to fight back.  Then, they are usually “surprised” because you have blown up in response.  How do you deal with these people?

Personally, I’m just doing my best to wake up in the morning, go to work, and love people.  I’m not the most “mushy-gushy” person– I’m sensitive, but not ridiculous.  I’m highly independent.  I draw energy from solitary activities.  Even as a child, I loved waking up before my parents so that I could be by myself.  I’m still like that.  I sneak out of bed before my husband wakes up so I can breathe in and enjoy some solitude.  And I hate conflict.  I think things are good just the way they are, and I’m trying to take one day at a time.  The problem is that I can’t find anyone who enjoys a good dosage of kindness as well.  I think that people should be kind and soft-spoken and not belittling or rude.

The ironic thing is that for some people, this particular post will be fuel for their fire.  Some people would take this as an affront to them.  Funny, isn’t it? When it is the last thing I would wish to happen?

Leave a Reply

