Patience

What is it about patience?

This has been a word that has been repeating itself in my midst these past few weeks.  So, what is it?  I keep being told, “You are so much more patient than I am,” or “You’re the most patient person I know.”

Am I really? How did I get to the point of being a patient person? (I don’t really think I am that patient.)  I know that I want to be patient.  I’ve never really prayed for patience specifically, because I’ve always been told not to pray for it.  Patience is one of those virtues that you really must desperately desire, because the road to patience is unpaved and marked with more bumps and bruises than you can count.   Helen Keller said, “We could never learn to be brave and patient, if there were only joy in the world.” Well, I’ve certainly had my share of non-joyful moments, but I believe that joy can be found even in the midst of sorrow.

I’ve found that I hold mainly to these truths:

There will be a time when loud-mouthed, incompetent people seem to be getting the best of you. When that happens, you only have to be patient and wait for them to self destruct. It never fails. – Richard Rybolt

How poor are they who have not patience! What wound did ever heal but by degrees. – William Shakespeare

And perhaps the one I hold most dear:

Have courage for the great sorrows of life and patience for the small ones; and when you have laboriously accomplished your daily task, go to sleep in peace. God is awake. -Victor Hugo

You see, I can’t personally force anyone else to change, try as I may.   I also know that I have faced times of adversity in my past and God has seen me through it.  He continues to prove his faithfulness.   So yes, perhaps I have some patience.  Who am I to give up?  How I can say to God- this is enough! Hasn’t He done so much for me and kept me safe?  I believe that God will hold people accountable for their actions one day.  I know that I allow a lot of things to fall upon me, because I believe that I am here to help bear the load.  Perhaps one day I will come to the place where enough is enough in my life- but God has not shown me that time.

So am I patient?  I don’t know.  I do know that God has proven himself faithful and has taken care of me.  I know that I am not a person to hold grudges.  You never know what one person is going through.  You can only be certain about yourself, because you have access to your own mind and no one else’s.  Can I belittle another person?  No.  Am I the person who refuses to talk to someone? No.  There was even a time in my past where I was physically pressured by someone else to the point where it felt like an assault.  Now, I never spent time in his presence again, but I forgave him years later when he asked for forgiveness.  Please don’t get me wrong– I am not advocating keeping silent about an injustice against you.  Girls– if you ever feel like something is inappropriate– tell someone!   The point I am trying to make is that I didn’t hold a grudge.  I have been told that I was the reason for my mother’s addiction.  I have been told that I was unloved.  I have been the scapegoat.  Today, I am my mother’s dearest friend.

I try my hardest to see what motives are behind a person’s actions.  Until I prove that there is nothing but the deepest malice in their soul, I do not refuse kindness to them.  I think that this is something Jesus teaches us to do.  Am I correct?

I hate conflict.  I hate pain.  I hate being dictated to. I want to be free to make my own decisions.  I am my own person.  I enjoy helping and being kind.  I prefer manners.  I am not a person to be in my own bubble.  I HATE being boxed in.

I have no patience over rudeness, violence, or the hurting of another person in any way.

I just think it’s important to love God, love others, and love yourself.

8 responses to this post.

  1. “I am extraordinarily patient, provided I get my own way in the end.”

    Margaret Thatcher (1989)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Maria on December 23, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    I think you’re right! LOL…

    Reply

  3. Posted by janet on December 24, 2008 at 8:26 am

    She is right! Believe me.

    Reply

  4. Posted by janet on December 25, 2008 at 8:13 am

    “Have patience with everything that remains unsolved in your heart. Try to love the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books written in a foreign language. Do not now look for the answers. They cannot now be given to you because you could not live them. It is a question of experiencing everything. At present you need to live the question. Perhaps you will gradually, without even noticing it, find yourself experiencing the answer, some distant day. Letters to a Young Poet”

    Rainer Maria Rilke quotes (Austro-German lyric poet, author of Duino Elegies and Sonnets

    Reply

  5. Posted by janet on December 25, 2008 at 8:14 am

    “Have patience with everything that remains unsolved in your heart. Try to love the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books written in a foreign language. Do not now look for the answers. They cannot now be given to you because you could not live them. It is a question of experiencing everything. At present you need to live the question. Perhaps you will gradually, without even noticing it, find yourself experiencing the answer, some distant day. Letters to a Young Poet”

    Rainer Maria Rilke quotes (Austro-German lyric poet, author of Duino Elegies and Sonnets

    Reply

  6. Posted by janet on December 25, 2008 at 8:15 am

    “Have patience with everything that remains unsolved in your heart. Try to love the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books written in a foreign language. Do not now look for the answers. They cannot now be given to you because you could not live them. It is a question of experiencing everything. At present you need to live the question. Perhaps you will gradually, without even noticing it, find yourself experiencing the answer, some distant day. Letters to a Young Poet”

    Rainer Maria Rilke quotes (Austro-German lyric poet, author of Duino Elegies and Sonnets

    Reply

  7. Posted by janet on December 25, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Ok, so I am learning.Sorry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

