A song I once wrote

It’s strange
this feeling
like I’m in the space between here and gone
and the roads are far too long
they lead everywhere and nowhere
feet that wont stand still
a heart that wont rest
miles away from home
and still I feel as if I must travel farther
aching that wont leave my chest
the complacency of here
too deep in my bones
I’m much too alone

If I could travel out
to the place where you are
where I need to be
to escape the complacency
If I could find which way
to be on my way
I’d be there in a day
But this weight is on my chest
between a future and happiness

I can’t fight the urge to scream
to cry out
I just want to be me
the Athens road holds love
but no promise
just amplifies the call for life
to be more than just the wife
How do I obtain this
spiritual matrimonial bliss

If I could travel out
to the place where you are
where I need to be
to escape the complacency
If I could find which way
to be on my way
I’d be there in a day
but this weight is on my chest
between a future and happiness

I am willing to run
from trees standing still
drink this spiritual life in
until I’ve had my fill
keep this burning deep in me
this love of being free
sing until I’ve had enough
filled to overflow my cup
love until I cannot love anymore
see what life has in store

Leave a Reply

