Loving the Rain

I love moments after the rain. I sit outside, breathing in the smell of the freshly soaked earth, basking in its sodden glory.  I’m entranced by the clarity of the air after a hard rain.  The heavens are darkened to a charcoal gray shade, but if you look closely, you can see a line of illuminated sky on the horizon.  The air is sweeter, fresher, and friendlier.  I get wrapped up in the idea of running freely in the grass, hoping that somehow I can be purified as well, through osmosis of some kind.

 

sweet ,driving rains

water trickling

down my scalp into my hair

droplets falling into my eyes

sweeping across my lashes

 

taste the heavens

washing away the soiled nature of my soul

 

take me back home

to the places I belong

where salvation is freely given

and I’m not alone

 

breathe in the earthy fragrance

roll in the soaked grass

feel mud squish between the toes

heaven is close

I can feel it

 

cleanse my heart

wash me away with the rain

 

take me to simplicity

and imagination and fantasy

twirl me around in circles

laughing so hard I can hardly breathe

 

breathe in the earthy fragrance

roll in the soaked grass

feel mud squish between the toes

heaven is close

 

I can feel it

Leave a Reply

